Here Are The School Holidays 2016

Knowing the school holidays in advance can help you plan vacations and childcare, and ensure your children are in school when they are meant to be! So if you’re wondering when are the school holidays this year for where you live, here are the school holiday dates for 2016 to 2017 for schools in different places.

Sign up for our free monthly newsletters. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, InstagramPinterest and YouTube.

There are guidelines now in place in many schools to discourage parents removing their children unnecessarily (apart from illness) during term-time – in some places for example, you even risk being fined for taking your child out of school without permission! So it pays to be savvy about when your child is meant to be in school.

School Holidays Ireland 2016


October – Mid-Term Break: Monday 31st October to Friday 4th November 2016 inclusive.

December – Christmas Holidays: All schools from Thursday 22nd December 2016, reopening Monday 9th January 2017.

February – Mid-Term Break: Secondary schools close Monday 20th February to Friday 24th February 2017.
Primary schools close Thursday 23rd & 24th February (may extend to 5 day break).

April – Easter Holidays: All schools will close on Friday 7th April 2017, re-opening Monday 24th April 2017.

May – Bank Holiday: Monday 1st May 2017.

June – Bank Holiday: Monday 5th June 2017.

School Holidays 2016 England


Dates may vary by area.

Start of new school year: Monday 5th September 2016.

October Half Term: Monday 24th October 2016 to Friday 28th October 2016 inclusive.

Christmas Holiday: Monday 19th December 2016 to Wednesday 4th January 2017 inclusive.

February Half Term: Monday 13th February 2017 to Friday 17 February 2017 inclusive.

Easter Holiday: Monday 3rd April 2017 to Monday 17th April 2017 inclusive.

Early May Bank Holiday: Monday 1st May 2017.

May/June Half Term: Monday 29th May 2017 to Friday 2nd June 2017 inclusive.

Last Day of Summer Term: Friday 21st July 2017.

School Holidays 2015 Scotland


Dates may vary by area.

Return Date for Pupils: Monday 15th August 2016

September Weekend: Friday 23rd & Monday 26th September 2016.

First Mid-Term: Monday 17th to Friday 21st October 2016 inclusive.

St Andrew’s Day: Wednesday 30th November 2016.

Christmas Holiday: Thursday 22nd December 2016 to Wednesday 4th January 2017 inclusive.

Second Mid-Term: Friday 10th February 2017 to Tuesday 14th February 2017 inclusive.

Spring Holiday: Monday 3rd April to Monday 17th April 2017 inclusive.

May Day: Monday 1st May 2017.

May Weekend: Fri 26th  May & Monday 29th May 2017.

Schools Close: Tuesday 27th June 2017.

School Holidays USA


School dates vary by state and school district but broadly speaking term and holiday dates this year are:

School Reopens: Wednesday 24th August 2016.

Autumn Vacation: Monday 10th October to 17th October 2016 inclusive.

Winter Break: Thursday 22nd December 2016 to Wednesday 4th January 2017 inclusive.

Easter Break: Monday 3rd April to Monday 17th April 2017 inclusive.

School Closes: 28 Jun 2017

School Holidays Australia


Find out about the current year and next year’s term dates for Australia’s state and territory government schools.

If you live in another country and would like us to add your school dates, contact us and we’ll be happy to add them!

Over to you! Why not share this article with your friends if you enjoyed it?

Here Are The School Holidays 2016

Tagged under

Jennifer, our Editor, has 1 son and admits to munching a Cadbury’s Turkish Delight now and again.