9 Brilliant Book Ideas to Amuse Kids and Teens this Easter

3283
Book ideas for kids and teens

Books are a clever way to amuse kids and teens during school breaks. Not only are they enjoying a good story, they are learning new words, phrases and escaping into their imagination. We have teamed up with Eason to bring you 9 Brilliant Book Ideas for Kids and Teens to Enjoy and Amuse them this Easter and best of all they are discounted to celebrate Springfest.

Eason Springfest book ideas for kids and teens

Springfest is here! Eason celebrate the Easter break with amazing discounts on kids and teen books. Save 25% on bestselling titles to keep the littles ones entertained and be inspired by the Eason’s selection of all the best from the world of kids, teen and young adult books at discounted prices. Here are some of our favourites.

#1. Oi Frog! by Kes Gray

0 to 4 Years

Book ideas for kids and teens Eason Springfest oi frogOi! Who sits where? Find out in this fun and noisy book! The laughter never ends with Oi Frog and friends . . . A sound book of the bestselling Oi Frog! with brilliant rhyming read-aloud text, jam-packed with animals and silliness, from the award-winning Kes Gray and Jim Field. Perfect for children and parents alike with an irresistible sound bite – ‘Oi!’ shouted by David Mitchell.

Look out for more Oi books: Oi Dog! , Oi Cat! and Oi Goat! Praise for the Oi books: – ‘Gigglingly delightful … a perfect match of words and pictures to entertain again and again’ – Daily Mail

Order Oi Frog!

#2. The Everywhere Bear by Julia Donaldson

0 to 4 Years

Book ideas for kids and teens Eason Springfest the everywhere bearThe Everywhere Bear has a home on a shelf But he doesn’t spend very much time by himself. For each boy and girl in the class is a friend and he goes home with one of them every weekend.

The Everywhere Bear has a wonderful time with the children in Class One, but one day he gets more than he bargained for when he falls unnoticed from a backpack and embarks on his own big adventure! He’s washed down a drain and whooshed out to sea, rescued by a fishing boat, loaded onto a lorry, carried off by a seagull . . . how will he ever make it back to Class One?

The Everywhere Bear is a warm and engaging story from Julia Donaldson and Rebecca Cobb, the creators of The Paper Dolls, which has sold over 200,000 copies worldwide and was shortlisted for the CILIP Kate Greenway Medal.

Order The Everywhere Bear

#3. Dirty Bertie – Mascot by David Roberts

5 to 8 years

Dirty Bertie Mascot Eason Springfest Book ideas for kids and teensCalling all Dirty Bertie fans! Dirty Bertie – the boy with nose-pickingly disgusting habits – is back for another helping of comic chaos! With ever-increasing madcap schemes and crazy capers, Bertie continues to delight his legions of fans, who revel in his revolting ways.

Join Bertie in MASCOT! , his 30th adventure, as he is picked to be the mascot for Pudsley Rovers, attempts to get himself expelled from a geeky summer camp and designs his very own robot, a Bootosaurus, to replace Miss Boot!

Dirty Bertie is a hugely popular series created and illustrated by award-winning illustrator, David Roberts (TYRANNOSAURUS DRIP , THE WIND IN THE WILLOWS , THE TROLL , THE EDDIE DICKENS TRILOGY) and written by award-winning author, Alan MacDonald (ASK OSCAR , THE PRINCE OF PANTS , SUPERHERO SCHOOL). With each hilarious story approximately thirty pages long and split into chapters with illustrations on nearly every spread, DIRTY BERTIE is ideal for confident readers to enjoy by themselves, or for sharing with your child.

Order Dirty Bertie – Mascot

#4. Isadora Moon Goes to the Fair by Harriet Muncaster

5 to 8 Years

Book ideas for kids and teens Eason Springfest isadora moon goest to the fairIsadora Moon is special because she’s different. Her mum is a fairy and her dad is a vampire and she’s a bit of both. Isadora is excited for her first ever trip to the fun fair, but when she arrives it’s not quite as magical as she expected. Luckily, her cousin Mirabelle has a plan to make the fairground rides extra special. What could possibly go wrong?

With irresistible pink and black artwork throughout by author/illustrator Harriet Muncaster and a totally unique heroine with an out-of-this-world family, this is a beautiful, charming, and funny series of first chapter books.

Perfect for fans of Claude, Dixie O’Day, and Squishy McFluff, Isadora Moon is the ideal choice for readers who want their magic and sparkle with a bit of bite!

Order Isadora Moon Goes to the Fair

#5. Hamish And The Baby Boom! by Danny Wallace

9 to 12 years

Book ideas for kids and teens Eason Springfest Hamish and the baby boomGet ready for another hilarious adventure from bestselling author Danny Wallace brought to life with illustrations from Jamie Littler, perfect for fans of David Walliams, Roald Dahl, David Baddiel and David Solomons!

Beware the Babies … they CRY … they POO … they ATTACK! Hamish and the PDF have been left in charge of Starkley while his dad and the rest of the Belasko agents are off hunting down the universe’s second-most dangerous villain – Axel Scarmarsh! But nothing bad will happen while he’s gone, right? WRONG! Suddenly the babies of Starkley are on the rampage and causing chaos – but only Hamish and his friends seem to be worried about the odd behaviour.

‘Danny Wallace and Jamie Littler’s books contain all the wit and warmth of Dahl and Blake at their best. Irresistible.’ – Phil Earle

Order Hamish and the Baby Boom

You may also enjoy – Be a Bookasaurus! 20 Top Dinosaur Books for your Din0-Mad Kid

#6. Nevermoor by Jessica Townsend

9 to 12 years

Book ideas for kids and teens Eason Springfest NevermoorEnter the Wundrous world of Morrigan Crow and Nevermoor – the most fantastical children’s series of the year. Perfect for fans of the Harry Potter series and His Dark Materials, this series takes readers into an extraordinary world, setting hope and imagination alive.

Morrigan Crow is cursed, destined to die on her eleventh birthday. But, as the clock strikes midnight, she’s whisked away by a remarkable man called Jupiter North and taken to the secret city of Nevermoor. There she’s invited to join the Wundrous Society. Mystery, magic and protection are hers – if only she can pass four impossible trials, using an exceptional talent. Which she doesn’t have…

“Exciting, mysterious, marvellous and magical … quite simply one of the best children’s books I’ve read in years” – Robin Stevens, author of Murder Most Unladylike.

Order Nevermore

#7. Begone the Raggedy Witches by Celine Kiernan

9 to 12 years

Book ideas for kids and teens Eason Springfest begone the raggedy witchesFrom multi-award-winning Irish author Celine Kiernan comes a dark fantasy adventure about witches “Ireland’s answer to JK Rowling.” Sunday Independent A middle-grade fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Frances Hardinge, Katherine Rundell and Sally Gardner.

On the night that Aunty dies the Raggedy Witches come for Mup’s mam. Pale, cold, relentless, they will do anything to coax Mam back to Witches Borough. When they kidnap Mup’s dad, Mup and her mam must leave the mundane world to rescue him. But Mam is strange on this side of the border – striding, powerful, and distant. Even if they can save Dad, Mup is not sure anything will ever be the same again.

‘Gorgeously geeky, superbly entertaining, this really is a spectacularly successful debut’ -Daily Mail.

Order Begone the Raggedy Witches

You may also enjoy these – 20 Bold Girls Authors

#8. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

12 to 15 years

Book ideas for kids and teens Eason Springfest Ready player oneIn the year 2045, reality is an ugly place. The only time Wade Watts really feels alive is when he’s jacked into the OASIS, a vast virtual world where most of humanity spends their days.

When the eccentric creator of the OASIS dies, he leaves behind a series of fiendish puzzles, based on his obsession with the pop culture of decades past. Whoever is first to solve them will inherit his vastfortune – and control of the OASIS itself. Then Wade cracks the first clue. Suddenly he’s beset by rivals who’ll kill to take this prize. The race is on – and the only way to survive is to win.

Now a major motion picture by Steven Spielberg **A world at stake. A quest for the ultimate prize. Are you ready?**

Order Ready Player One

#9. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

12 to 15 years

Book ideas for kids and teens Eason Springfest a wrinkle in timeMeg always felt she was different and when her little brother Charles Murry and her go searching for their lost father, they find themselves travelling on a dangerous journey through a ‘wrinkle in time‘. As the cosmic evil forces of darkness threaten to swallow the universe, Meg must overcome her insecurities and channel all her inner strengths – her stubbornness, anger and ultimately her love – to save her family.

An exciting mixture of fantasy and science fiction, which all the way through is dominated by the funny and mysterious trio of guardian angels known as Mrs Whatsit, Mrs Who and Mrs Which.

A Wrinkle in Time is an empowering story about the battle between good and evil and the power of love. This movie tie-in edition of the timeless novel features the complete, unabridged original text, and an introduction by the film’s director, Ava DuVernay.

Order A Wrinkle in Time

Over to you now. Have you read any of the books on our list? Please let us know in the comments box below.

Leave a Reply