Meet a Mykidstime Parent – Avril from Tipperary

In our Meet a Mykidstime Parent series, talks to Avril, living in Tipperary, about parenting and being a mum of two girls.

Tell us about your family

We are a family of 4 – my husband Paul, myself and my 2 daughters Amelie who is 5 and Luisa who is 2.

Describe a typical day in your house

As I recently went back to full-time work, things are always pretty hectic in the morning.  I get up at 7.10am, organise myself & then get the girls up & dressed by 8am or earlier.  Lunches are pretty much pre-prepared just to be given the final touches in the morning. 

I head off to work at 8.30am so Paul gives the girls their breakfast & then drops them both to creche.  The creche drops Amelie to school and some days collects her after for their after school club. 

Otherwise my mother collects her or sometimes Paul is off during the week so he collects her and often brings her swimming. I collect the girls every evening at 6.  It's a long day for us all so we're all pretty pooped at that stage. 

We try to have a half hour to just chill out as a family after dinner & before bed.  Bedtime routine kicks in at 7.30pm.  All in bed & stories read by 8pm – usually!

What aspect of parenting do you find most enjoyable?

Listening to my girls learning and talking about their experiences.  They can be very funny and very serious in equal part which just makes each stage of development very involving.  In general, I enjoy all aspects of their care & particularly love all the cuddles I get in return!

What do you find most difficult as a parent?

Juggling my time and responsibilities so that the girls see enough of their Mammy.

What is best piece of parenting advice you have ever received?

Don't wish their lives away on the difficult days because they'll be grown up in the blink of an eye & you'll be wishing you had that time back.

And the worst parenting advice you received?

Thankfully nothing that I can remember!

If you were Minister for Children what one change would you make?

I would like to see actual free education for all children right up to Leaving Cert.  Even though we don't actually pay for tuition, there are still too many associated costs for school going children & their parents.

What are your hopes for your children?

My hopes are simple – that they be healthy, happy & safe.

We are looking to talk to more parents about everyday parenting. If you would be interested in chatting to us, please get in touch.

Did you like this article? Sign up for our free newsletter and join us on facebook and follow us on Twitter

Tagged under

Jill is one of the co-founders of Mykidstime and a mum of 2 girls