23 Fantastic Books Like Harry Potter Your Child Might Enjoy

1287
books like harry potter

Has your child finished reading the Harry Potter series? Looking for ideas for other books like Harry Potter that they might like next? Here are 23 Fantastic Books Like Harry Potter Your Child Might Enjoy:

Sign up for our free monthly newsletter stuffed full of ideas, competitions and offers. PS Did we mention it’s free?

It’s always a bit of a sad moment for any reader besotted with a series to find they’ve reached the end. If your child has been enjoying J.K. Rowling’s magical and mysterious Harry Potter series, they will love these other books like Harry Potter that we’ve picked out. The good thing is most of these are in series too so there should be plenty to keep them going!

You May Also Enjoy 30 Amazing Books for Kids Who Love David Walliams

Exciting Books Like Harry Potter

The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani

The School for Good and Evil is the first of a five series of books.

In the first book best friends Sophie and Agatha are about to discover where all the lost children go: the fabled School for Good & Evil, where ordinary boys and girls are trained to be fairy tale heroes and villains.

Continue with The School for Good and Evil series with four more books: A World without Princes, The Last Ever After, Quests for Glory and A Crystal of Time.

Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow by Jessica Townsend

nevermoorMorrigan Crow is cursed. Born on an unlucky day, she is blamed for all local misfortunes, from hailstorms to heart attacks – and, worst of all, the curse means that Morrigan is doomed to die at midnight on Eventide. But as Morrigan awaits her fate, a strange and remarkable man named Jupiter North appears.

Chased by black-smoke hounds and shadowy hunters on horseback, he whisks her away into the safety of a secret, magical city called Nevermoor. It’s there that Morrigan discovers Jupiter has chosen her to contend for a place in the city’s most prestigious organisation: the Wundrous Society.

Read the follow on book Wundersmith: The Calling of Morrigan Crow.

A Place Called Perfect by Helena Duggan

a place called perfectIn A Place Called Perfect, Violet never wanted to move to Perfect. Who wants to live in a town where everyone has to wear glasses to stop them going blind? And who wants to be neat and tidy and perfectly behaved all the time?

But Violet quickly discovers there’s something weird going on – she keeps hearing noises in the night, her mum is acting strange and her dad has disappeared. When she meets Boy she realizes that her dad is not the only person to have been stolen away… and that the mysterious Watchers are guarding a perfectly creepy secret!

Read The Trouble with Perfect next.

You May Also Enjoy 20 Brilliant books to Celebrate Bold Girls

The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart

the mysterious benedict societyThe Mysterious Benedict Society is the first of a trilogy. When a peculiar advertisement appears in the newspaper for children to take part in a secret mission, children everywhere sit a series of mysterious tests. In the end, just four children succeed: Reynie, Kate, Sticky and Constance.

They have three things in common: they are all honest, all remarkably talented and all orphans. They must go undercover at the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened where the only rule is that there are no rules. There they must work as a team to save not only themselves, but also the world outside the walls.

Read the follow on books The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey and The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Prisoner’s Dilemma.

Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer

artemis fowlRumour has it Artemis Fowl is responsible for every major crime of the new century. Just twelve years old and already he’s a criminal genius, plotting to restore his family’s fortune with a spot of corruption and kidnapping.

Kidnapping a fairy for ransom, to be precise. Artemis Fowl has discovered a world below ground of armed and dangerous – and extremely high-tech – fairies. But he may have underestimated their powers. They will fight back. Is the boy about to trigger a cross-species war?

There are 7 further Artemis Fowl books to read next.

You May Also Enjoy Disney’s Artemis Fowl Announced for 2019

A Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula K. LeGuin

a wizard of earthseaThe first of the Earthsea trilogy, A Wizard of Earthsea is the story of Ged was the greatest sorcerer in Earthsea, but in his youth he was the reckless Sparrowhawk.

In his hunger for power and knowledge, he tampered with long-held secrets and loosed a terrible shadow upon the world.

This is the tumultuous tale of his testing, how he mastered the mighty words of power, tamed an ancient dragon, and crossed death’s threshold to restore the balance.

If you’re looking for more, read The Tombs of Atuan and The Farthest Shore afterwards.

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

percy jacksonPercy Jackson and the Lightning Thief is the first bestselling book in Rick Riordan’s phenomenally successful Percy Jackson series.

After a harrowing experience at his school trip, Percy Jackson returns home for the summer vacation. However, the trip is cut short after a series of harrowing incidents, such as being attacked by the Minotaur. Percy finds himself at Camp Half-Blood, a training camp for demigods like him. He discovers that he is a demigod, son of Poseidon, the Greek god of the sea.

Percy also learns that the Greek gods are accusing him of having stolen Zeus’ master lightning bolt, the most powerful weapon in the world. To clear his name, save the world from another war between the Olympian gods, and maybe even save his mother, Percy sets out to retrieve the lightning bolt from Hades, who is suspected of being the real thief

The Uncommoners #1: The Crooked Sixpence by Jennifer Bell

the uncommonersIn The Uncommoners you’ll find a world where nothing is quite as it seems… When their grandmother Sylvie is rushed to the hospital, Ivy Sparrow and her annoying big brother Seb cannot imagine what adventure lies in store. Soon their house is ransacked by unknown intruders, and a very strange policeman turns up on the scene, determined to apprehend them… with a toilet brush.

Ivy and Seb make their escape only to find themselves in a completely uncommon world, a secret underground city called Lundinor where ordinary objects have amazing powers. But the forces of evil are closing in fast, and when Ivy and Seb learn that their family is connected to one of the greatest uncommon treasures of all time, they must race to unearth the treasure and get to the bottom of a family secret… before it’s too late.

Enjoy The Smoking Hourglass and The Frozen Telescope next.

The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman

the golden compassThe Golden Compass is the first of the His Dark Materials series by Philip Pullman. Lyra is rushing to the cold, far North, where witch clans and armored bears rule. North, where the Gobblers take the children they steal, including her friend Roger. North, where her fearsome uncle Asriel is trying to build a bridge to a parallel world.

Can one small girl make a difference in such great and terrible endeavors? This is Lyra a savage, a schemer, a liar, and as fierce and true a champion as Roger or Asriel could want. But what Lyra doesn’t know is that to help one of them will be to betray the other…

After you’ve finished The Golden Compass continue the series with The Subtle Knife  and The Amber Spyglass.

The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis

the lion the witch and the wardrobeThe Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe is actually the second book in C. S. Lewis’s classic fantasy series, which has been enchanting readers of all ages for over sixty years, but it’s a good starting book for the series as it introduces four adventurous siblings, Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy Pevensie.

The brothers and sisters step through a wardrobe door and into the land of Narnia, a land frozen in eternal winter and enslaved by the power of the White Witch. But when almost all hope is lost, the return of the Great Lion, Aslan, signals a great change… and a great sacrifice.

This is a stand-alone novel, but if you want to return to Narnia, there are 7 books in The Narnia Chronicles: The Magician’s Nephew; The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe; The Horse and His Boy; Prince Caspian; The Voyage of the Dawn Treader; The Silver Chair; and The Last Battle.

You May Also Enjoy 10 of the Most Highly Recommended Kids books by Age

Winterling by Sarah Prineas

winterlingIn Winterling, you will meet Fer. With her boundless curiosity and wild spirit, Fer has always felt that she doesn’t belong. Not when the forest is calling to her, when the rush of wind through branches feels more real than school or the quiet farms near her house. Then she saves an injured creature—he looks like a boy, but he’s really something else. He knows who Fer truly is, and invites her through the Way, a passage to a strange, dangerous land.

Fer feels an instant attachment to this realm, where magic is real and oaths forge bonds stronger than iron. But a powerful huntress named the Mor rules here, and Fer can sense that the land is perilously out of balance. Fer must unlock the secrets about the parents she never knew and claim her true place before the worlds on both sides of the Way descend into endless winter.

The follow on books are Summerkin and Moonkind.

The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster

the phantoom tollboothA modern classic, The Phantom Tollbooth is an ingenious fantasy centered around Milo, a bored ten-year-old who comes home to find a large toy tollbooth sitting in his room.

Joining forces with a watchdog named Tock, Milo drives through the tollbooth’s gates and begins a memorable journey.

He meets such characters as the foolish, yet lovable Humbug, the Mathemagician, and the not-so-wicked “Which, ” Faintly Macabre, who gives Milo the “impossible” mission of returning two princesses to the Kingdom of Wisdom.

You May Also Enjoy 10 of the Coolest Classic Books for Teens

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

a wrinkle in timeA Wrinkle in Time is a ground-breaking science fiction and fantasy classic, now a movie starring Oprah Winfrey and Reese Witherspoon.

It was a dark and stormy night; Meg Murry, her small brother Charles Wallace, and her mother had come down to the kitchen for a midnight snack when they were upset by the arrival of a most disturbing stranger.

“Wild nights are my glory,” the unearthly stranger told them. “I just got caught in a downdraft and blown off course. Let me sit down for a moment, and then I’ll be on my way. Speaking of ways, by the way, there is such a thing as a tesseract.”

The Time Quintet consists of A Wrinkle in Time, A Wind in the Door, A Swiftly Tilting Planet, Many Waters, and An Acceptable Time.

The Sisters Grimm: The Fairy Tale Detectives by Michael Buckley

the sisters grimmIn The Sisters Grimm: The Fairy Tale Detectives, the first book in a 9 book series, orphaned sisters Sabrina and Daphne are sent to live with their recently discovered grandmother, Relda Grimm. The girls learn that they are descendants of the Brothers Grimm, whose famous tome of fairy tales is actually a history book.

The girls are pitted against a giant, who has been rampaging through town. But who set the giant loose in the first place? Was it Mayor Charming (formerly Prince Charming), who has plans to get his kingdom back? The Three Not-So-Little Pigs, now working as police officers? Or a giant-killer named Jack, currently working at a Big & Tall store?

The rest of The Sisters Grimm series includes The Unusual Suspects, The Problem Child, Once Upon a Crime, Magic and Other Misdemeanors, Tales from The Hood, The Everafter War, The Inside Story and The Council of Mirrors.

Ranger’s Apprentice: The Ruins of Gorlan by John Flanagan

ranger's apprentice ruins of gorlanThe Ruins of Gorlan is the first thrilling book in the Ranger’s Apprentice Series. They have always scared him in the past – the Rangers, with their dark cloaks and shadowy ways. The villagers believe the Rangers practise magic that makes them invisible to ordinary people. And now 15-year-old Will, always small for his age, has been chosen as a Ranger’s apprentice.

What he doesn’t yet realise is that the Rangers are the protectors of the kingdom. Highly trained in the skills of battle and surveillance, they fight the battles before the battles reach the people. And as Will is about to learn, there is a large battle brewing. The exiled Morgarath, Lord of the Mountains of Rain and Night, is gathering his forces for an attack on the kingdom. This time, he will not be denied . . .

There are a further 11 books in the Ranger’s Apprentice series to enjoy.

The False Prince by Jennifer A Nielsen

the false princeThe False Prince is the first book in the Ascendance Trilogy by Jennifer A Nielsen. In a discontent kingdom, civil war is brewing. To unify the divided people, Conner, a nobleman of the court, devises a cunning plan to find an impersonator of the king’s long-lost son and install him as a puppet prince.

Four orphans are recruited to compete for the role, including a defiant boy named Sage. Sage knows that Conner’s motives are more than questionable, yet his life balances on a sword’s point; he must be chosen to play the prince or he will certainly be killed. But Sage’s rivals have their own agendas as well.

Then enjoy The Runaway King and The Shadow Throne.

Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

howl's moving castleIn Howl’s Moving Castle, Sophie has the great misfortune of being the eldest of three daughters, destined to fail miserably should she ever leave home to seek her fate. But when she unwittingly attracts the ire of the Witch of the Waste, Sophie finds herself under a horrid spell that transforms her into an old lady. Her only chance at breaking it lies in the ever-moving castle in the hills: the Wizard Howl’s castle.

To untangle the enchantment, Sophie must handle the heartless Howl, strike a bargain with a fire demon, and meet the Witch of the Waste head-on. Along the way, she discovers that there’s far more to Howl–and herself–than first meets the eye. Also made into a movie by the famous Hayao Miyazaki.

You May Also Enjoy 50 of the Best Family Movies of All Time

Inkheart by Cornelia Funke

inkheartInkheart is the first of the Inkheart Trilogy. Meggie loves books. So does her father, Mo, a bookbinder, although he has never read aloud to her since her mother mysteriously disappeared.

They live quietly until the night a stranger knocks at their door. He has come with a warning that forces Mo to reveal an extraordinary secret – a storytelling secret that will change their lives for ever.

Follow on with Inkspell and Inkdeath.

The Fire Within by Chris D’Lacey

the fire withinThe Fire Within is the first of the Last Dragon Chronicles. When David moves in with Liz and Lucy, he discovers a collection of hand crafted, clay dragons that comes to life and has magical powers. David’s personalized dragon, Gadzooks, can forecast the future, and inspires him to write a story which reveals the truth behind an unsolved mystery close to home. The story has an unhappy ending, and when David realizes the consequences of it he is angry.

Then David finds Gadzooks crying and near death, and he discovers that these special dragons die when they are not loved. Soon David is forced to save his friend and unlock the powers of the fire within.

The Last Dragon series continues with Icefire, Fire Star, The Fire Eternal, Dark Fire, Fire World, and The Fire Ascending.

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

the hobbitNow a classic, The Hobbit is a tale of high adventure, undertaken by a company of dwarves in search of dragon-guarded gold. A reluctant partner in this perilous quest is Bilbo Baggins, a comfort-loving unambitious hobbit, who surprises even himself by his resourcefulness and skill as a burglar.

Encounters with trolls, goblins, dwarves, elves and giant spiders, conversations with the dragon, Smaug, and a rather unwilling presence at the Battle of Five Armies are just some of the adventures that befall Bilbo. Bilbo Baggins has taken his place among the ranks of the immortals of children’s fiction.

For older kids they can move onto The Lord of the Rings trilogy.

Eragon by Christopher Paolini

eragonEragon is the first book in The Inheritance Series. When poor farm boy Eragon finds a polished stone in the forest, he thinks it’s a lucky discovery. Perhaps, he will be able to buy his family food for the winter.

But, when a baby dragon hatches out of the stone, Eragon realises he’s stumbled upon a legacy nearly as old as the Empire itself. His simple life is shattered, and he’s thrust into a perilous new world of destiny, magic and power. To navigate this dark terrain, and survive his cruel king’s evil ways, he must take up the mantle of the legendary Dragon Riders.

Enjoy Eldest, Brisingr and Inheritance next in the Inheritance series.

Magisterium: The Iron Trial by Holly Black & Cassandra Clare

magisteriumThink you know magic? Think again. The Magesterium awaits… Most people would do anything to get into the Magisterium and pass the Iron Trial. Not Callum Hunt. Call has been told his whole life that he should never trust a magician. And so he tries his best to do his worst – but fails at failing.

Now he must enter the Magisterium. It’s a place that’s both sensational and sinister. And Call realizes it has dark ties to his past and a twisty path to his future. The Iron Trial is just the beginning. Call’s biggest test is still to come . .

Follow on by reading the rest of the series books: The Copper Gauntlet, The Bronze Key, The Silver Mask and The Golden Tower.

Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy

skulduggery pleasantSkulduggery Pleasant is the first book in the bestselling Skulduggery Pleasant series. She’s twelve. He’s dead. But together they’re going to save the world. Hopefully. Stephanie’s uncle Gordon is a writer of horror fiction.

But when he dies and leaves her his estate, Stephanie learns that while he may have written horror it certainly wasn’t fiction. Pursued by evil forces, Stephanie finds help from an unusual source – the wisecracking skeleton of a dead sorcerer…

Enjoy 8 further books in the first series and two more in the second series as well.

You May Also Enjoy Abracadabra! 12 Magic Books Your Young Magician Will Love

Are there any other books like Harry Potter we have missed off our list? Leave a comment below and let us know – we’d love to hear from you!

Books Like Harry Potter Your Child Might Enjoy



Leave a Reply