Here Are the School Holidays 2022-2023

Jill Holtz

June 20, 2022

School Holidays 2022-23

Like this? Share it with your network!

Like this? Share it with your network!

Whether you are looking to make plans for when the kids are off or plan your work schedule around those days, knowing the school holidays in advance can really help you plan activities, vacations, and childcare. If you’re wondering when the school holidays are for where you live, we’ve got a round up of the school holidays 2022, with dates into 2023 for schools in different places.

School Holidays 2022-2023

There are guidelines now in place in many schools to discourage parents removing their children unnecessarily (apart from illness) during term-time – in some places for example, you even risk a daily fine for taking your child out of school without permission!

So it pays to be savvy about when your child is meant to be in school.

School Holidays 2022/2023 in Ireland

ireland school holidays

October Mid-Term: Monday 31st October to Friday 4th November 2022 inclusive

Christmas Holidays: All schools from Wednesday 21st December 2022, reopening Thursday 5th January 2023.

February Mid-Term: Secondary schools close Monday 13th February to Friday 17th February 2023 inclusive. Primary schools close Thursday 16th February and Friday 17th February 2023 (may extend to 5 day break).

St Patrick’s Day: Friday 17th March 2023

Easter Holidays: All schools will close on Friday 31st March 2023, re-opening Monday 17th April 2023.

May Bank Holiday: Monday 1st May 2023

June Bank Holiday: Monday 5th June 2023

The Department of Education website has all the details.

School Holidays 2022/2023 in England

england school holidays

Dates may vary by area.

Start of New School Year: Thursday 1st September 2022

October Mid-Term: Monday 24th October to Friday 28th October 2022 inclusive

Christmas Holidays: Friday 23d December 2022, reopening Wednesday 4th January 2023

February Mid-Term: Monday 13th February to Friday 17th February 2023 inclusive

Easter Holidays: Monday 3rd April to Friday 14th April 2023 inclusive

May Bank Holiday: Monday 2nd May 2023

Summer Mid-Term: Monday 29th May to Friday 2nd June 2023 inclusive

End of School Year: Schools close Friday 21st July 2023

Have Your Say

Don’t miss the chance to have your say! We’re looking for parents to get involved and give their feedback on all aspects of family life.

Have Your Say

School Holidays 2022/2023 in Wales

Wales school holidays

Dates may vary by area.

Start of New School Year: Thursday 1st September 2022

October Mid-Term: Monday 31st October to Friday 4th November 2022 inclusive

Christmas Holidays: Wednesday 23rd December 2022, reopening Monday 9th January 2023

February Mid-Term: Monday 20th to Friday 24th February 2023

Easter Holidays: Monday 3rd to Friday 17th April 2023

May Bank Holiday: Monday 1st May 2023

Summer Mid-Term: Monday 29th May to Friday 2nd June 2023

End of School Year: Schools close Thursday 20th July 2023

School Holidays 2022/2023 in Scotland

Scotland school holidays

Dates may vary by area.

Start of School Year: Wednesday 17th August 2022

September Weekend: Friday 23rd and Monday 26th September 2022

October Mid-Term: Friday 14th October 2022 (In-Service Day)
Monday 17th to Friday 21st October 2022 (October Week)

Christmas Holidays: Friday 23rd December 2022 – Tuesday 3rd January 2023

February Mid-Term: Monday 13th February – Tuesday 14th February 2023, Wednesday 15th February 2023 (In-service day)

Easter Holidays: Monday 3rd April – Friday 14th April 2023

May Bank Holiday: Monday 1st May 2023

In-Service Day (all schools): Thursday 25th May 2023

End of School Year: Schools close Friday 23 June 2023

Download

Download our FREE 8 week Back to School Planner to help avoid last minute panics!

Tell Me More!
Back to school planner

School Holidays 2022/2023 in the USA

USA school holidays

Dates vary by state and school district, but broadly speaking term and holiday dates this year are:

Start of School Year: Tuesday 6th September 2022

Thanksgiving Break: Thursday 24th November and Friday 25th November 2022

Winter Break: Monday 19th December 2022 to Monday 2nd January 2023

Spring Break: Monday 27th March to Friday 31st March 2023

End of School Year: Schools close Friday 16th June 2023

School Holidays 2022/2023 in Australia

Australia school holidays

Find out about the current year and next year’s term dates for Australia’s state and territory government schools.

If you live in another country and would like us to add your school dates, contact us and we’ll be happy to add them!

Here Are the School Holidays 2022-23

Like this? Share it with your network!

Like this? Share it with your network!

Published On: June 20th, 2022 / Categories: School / Last Updated: June 28th, 2022 / Tags: , /

About the Author: Jill Holtz

Jill is one of the co-founders of Mykidstime and a mum of 2 girls

Related Posts

You May Also Enjoy

Have Your Say

Have Your Say

Join the conversation today and tell us what you think.