Here Are the School Holidays 2023-2024

Michelle

August 8, 2023

School Holidays 2023-2024

Like this? Share it with your network!

Like this? Share it with your network!

Whether you are looking to make plans for when the kids are off or plan your work schedule around those days, knowing the school holidays in advance can really help you plan activities, vacations, and childcare.

If you’re wondering when the school holidays are for where you live, we’ve got a round up of the school holidays 2023, with dates into 2024 for schools in different places.

School Holidays 2023-2023

There are guidelines now in place in many schools to discourage parents removing their children unnecessarily (apart from illness) during term-time – in some places for example, you even risk a daily fine for taking your child out of school without permission!

So it pays to be savvy about when your child is meant to be in school.

School Holidays 2023/2024 in Ireland

irish flag school holiday dates for 2023-2024

October Mid-Term: Monday 3oth October to Friday3rd November 2023 inclusive

Christmas Holidays: All schools from Friday 22nd December 2023, reopening Monday 8th January 2024.

February Mid-Term: Secondary schools close Monday 12th February to Friday 16th February 2024 inclusive (some may close on Wednesday 14th February if contingency days are needed). Primary schools close Thursday 15th February and Friday 16th February 2024 (may extend to 5 day break).

St Patrick’s Day: Friday 15th or Monday 18th March 2024

Easter Holidays: All schools will close on Friday 22nd March 2024, re-opening Monday 8th April 2024. (Some schools who need to make up contingency days, may remain open until Wednesday March 27th 2024)

May Bank Holiday: Monday 6th May 2024

June Bank Holiday: Monday 3rd June 2024

The Department of Education website has all the details.

School Holidays 2023/2024 in England

england school holidays

Dates may vary by area.

Start of New School Year: Monday 4th September 2023

Autumn/October Mid-Term: Monday 16th October to Friday 27th October 2023 inclusive

Christmas Holidays: Monday 18th December 2023, reopening Monday 8th January 2024

Spring Half-Term/February Mid-Term: Monday 12th February to Friday 16th February 2024 inclusive

Spring/Easter Holidays: Monday 25th March to Friday 12th April 2024 inclusive

May Bank Holidays: Monday 6th May 2023 and Monday 27th May 2024

Summer Half-Term: Monday 27th May to Friday 31st May 2024 inclusive

End of School Year: Schools close Friday 5th July 2024

You Have Mail!

Get our best content direct to your inbox! You’ll receive quick and easy recipes, fun ideas to entertain the kids, parenting tips, great competitions, as well as offers from brands we trust.

School Holidays 2023/2024 in Wales

Wales school holidays

Dates may vary by area.

Start of New School Year: Friday 1st September 2023

Autumn/October Half-Term: Monday 3oth October to Friday 3rd November 2023 inclusive

Christmas Holidays: Friday 22nd December 2023, reopening Monday 8th January 2024

Spring/February Half-Term: Monday 12th to Friday 16th February 2024

Easter Holidays: Monday 25th March to Friday 5th April 2024 inclusive

May Bank Holidays: Monday 6th & Monday 27th May 2024

Summer Half-Term: Monday 27th May to Friday 31st May 2024 inclusive

End of School Year: Schools close Friday 19th July 2024

School Holidays 2023/2024 in Scotland

Scotland school holidays

Dates may vary by area.

Start of School Year: Tuesday 22nd August 2023

September Weekend: Friday 22nd and Monday 25th September 2023

October Mid-Term: Monday 16th October 2023  to Friday 27th October 2023 inclusive (October Week)

In-Service Day (all schools): Friday 17th November 2023

Christmas Holidays: Friday 22d December 2023 – Tuesday 5th January 2024 inclusive

February Mid-Term: Monday 12th February – Wednesday 14th February 2024 inclusive (Includes 2 x in-service days)

Spring/Easter Holidays: Monday 1st April – Friday 12th April 2024 inclusive

May Bank Holiday: Monday 6th May 20234

In-Service Day (all schools): Tuesday 7th May 2023

End of School Year: Schools close Friday 5th July 2024

Download

Download our FREE 8 week Back to School Planner to help avoid last minute panics!

FREE 8 Week Back to School Planner to Avoid Last Minute Panic

School Holidays 2023/2024 in the USA

USA school holidays

Dates vary by state and school district, but broadly speaking term and holiday dates this year are:

Start of School Year: Wednesday 6th September 2023

Thanksgiving Break: Thursday 23rd November and Friday 24th November 2023

Winter Break: Monday 25th December 2023 to Monday 1st January 2024 inclusive

Spring Break: Monday 15th April to Friday 19th April 2023 inclusive

End of School Year: Schools close Friday 21st  June 2024

School Holidays 2023/2024 in Australia

Australia school holidays

Find out about the current year and next year’s term dates for Australia’s state and territory government schools.

If you live in another country and would like us to add your school dates, contact us and we’ll be happy to add them!

School holidays for 2023 2024

Like this? Share it with your network!

Like this? Share it with your network!

Published On: August 8th, 2023 / Categories: School / Last Updated: October 2nd, 2023 / Tags: /

About the Author: Michelle

Avatar photo
Michelle is a Mum to 2 girls and co-founded Mykidstime.

You May Also Enjoy

You’ve Got Mail!

Get our best content direct to your inbox! You’ll receive quick and easy recipes, fun ideas to entertain the kids, parenting tips, competitions, as well as offers from brands we trust.